FACES FACTS: Who We Impact


    FACES supports teacher leadership through FACES Mentoring.

    Each school has a FACES Mentor who helps teachers with the grant application process.  These mentors are an integral part of the FACES program.  The mentors below do a fantastic job growing their teachers!


    Emily Antoniak, East Samford School

    Courtney Bass, Drake Middle School

    Blake Busbin, Auburn High School

    Laura Crowe, Auburn Junior High School

    Lori Paul, Wrights Mill Road Elementary School

    Sarah Hillyer, Creekside Elementary School

    Katie Lindsey, Yarbrough Elementary School

    Rob Lyda and Sandra Beisel, Cary Woods Elementary School

    Jennifer Mesman, Richland Elementary School

    Andrea Newman and Ginger Key, Dean Road Elementary School

    Deana Hooks, Pick Elementary School

    Tonya Keene, Auburn Early Education Center

    Phil Wilson, Ogletree Elementary School


    FACES congratulates and honors the 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year for Auburn City Schools.

    These thirteen masters of their crafts were celebrated during the FACES Celebration Reception.  Thank you for being teachers!


    Beth Bass, Wrights Mill Road Elementary

    Holly Bigham, Cary Woods Elementary

    Anne Busbin, Richland Elementary

    Seth Clark, Drake Middle School

    Marlee Clifton, Auburn Early Ed

    Liz Greathouse, Pick Elementary

    Brad Hooks, Ogletree Elementary

    Abby Kuhn, Creekside Elementary

    Jacque Middleton, Auburn High School

    Andrea Newman, Dean Road Elementary

    Rebecca Vining, Auburn Junior High School

    Jay Williams, East Samford School

    Aleeza Zutter, Yarbrough Elementary School



  • FACES awards teacher grants for innovative and creative projects and resources  in the classroom. 


    Congratulations to the recipients of the 2017-2018 FACES grants honored at a reception at the Chamber of Commerce.  Auburn High School teachers won the top awards!  Blake Busbin received the Carol Pittard Award with his grant Land of Freedom: The Civil Rights Movement in East Alabama.  The team of Betty Schiffer, Julie Wentworth, Lauren Ozment, Julie Echols, and Jessica Meade received the Dianne Wilson Award with their submission Tiger Mochas Squared.  Both awards came with a cash prize to extend the impact of their grants.  Go Auburn High School Tigers!


    Pittard Award Wilson Award

    The 70 grants awarded included the following, each of whom earned the high score from those submitted at their respective schools:


    • Emily Antoniak, ESS,  Medical Mystery Pathology

    • Melanie Beatty and Haleigh Rusk, AEEC,  Fine Motor Fun

    • Blake Busbin, AHS, Land of Freedom: The Civil Rights Movement in Alabama

    • Jennifer Dempsey, Amber Goolsby, & Amanda Kaye Bain, WMR, “Pay It Forward” with a Gift of Reading

    • Beverly Helm, DMS, Remembering the Great War: Alabama and World War I

    • Ginger Key, DRES, Rhythm and Rhyme: You Say It, I Play It!

    • Katie Lindsey and Shannon Brandt, YES, Reading Around the World in 30 Days

    • Rob Lyda, CWES, What Do You Do With an Idea? Code and Compose Melodies

    • Anne Roge and Laura Crowe, AJHS, Attach Yourself to Something Larger II

    • Rebecca Wall, RES, Cave Kids

    • Betty Weeden, PES, Sir Cumference’s Math Festival

    • Bruce Zutter, OES, Now You’re Cooking: Green Engineering Solar Ovens


FACES (Foundation for Auburn's Continuing Enrichment in Schools) is the Foundation organization partnering with Auburn City Schools to provide resources for innovative classroom opportunities for students.